Gold with Tin

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hrushi

Supporting Member
Hi Guys

I have got gold dust mixed with Tin(10%++ wt.) copper silver, etc..
Dissolved in AR then precipitated with HH, violet clouds formed those cannot be filtered so had to do gravity filtration on cloth, much of it has gone down.
How to recover gold from this. Tin is creating problem here, gold is converted to colloidal

Regards
Hrushi

2.jpg

That tin really seems to be quite a bugger for gold refiners.
Hello hrushi. I am new to recovery & refining, but I have read about, and seen pictures of similar situations. I think you have created the dreaded meta stannic acid! Most refiners will rid their material of all base metals before refining, if possible. They seem especially leery about tin. Tin makes the blue-grey mud that is an unwelcome sight in anyone's filter paper. Use the search option to research metastannic acid or meta stannic acid. I have read that some people roast the mud in an oven first, then they are able to dissolve the tin away later. That process may only help with liberating foils, I don't know, but the search option should help while you wait to hear from a real refiner.

Good Luck!
mike

Hi Guys

I have got gold dust mixed with Tin(10%++ wt.) copper silver, etc..
Dissolved in AR then precipitated with HH, violet clouds formed those cannot be filtered so had to do gravity filtration on cloth, much of it has gone down.
How to recover gold from this. Tin is creating problem here, gold is converted to colloidal

Regards
Hrushi

View attachment 51202
Your major mistake was the AR, as war child says.

Tin and Nitric are not very compatible in our line of work.

If I’m not mistaken the roasting transforms the Tin so you can dissolve it in HCl.
LYour problem is the colloids, but that should not be more than a milligram or less.