HCL and bleach problem

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nash@22

Hi all fellow gold refiners, this is my first time posting on this forum. I have studied and applied a lot of material within this forum to my personal refining and I have been successful in the area of gold finger gold extraction as well as pcbs. I then attempted the process of gold plating removal using the reverse electrolytic cell with sulphuric acid and this was a success to a certain point. This is where my problem sits, I have added muriatic acid 32% with 5% bleach to the black powder after draining the excess sulphuric acid as much as I could. The problem I face is that the solution stays green after adding HCL and bleach. I have done this at night, no heat and no sunlight and I am seeking solutions to this problem of the solution staying green. I must admit that I have added a bit more bleach than is required with a ratio of 2 HCL to 1 bleach which I used. please help...

Welcome to the forum.
I think you do not have a problem, the colour of the solution is from other contaminants, probably copper, if all the powder has dissolved simply filter and precipitate, if you want high purity gold dissolve the powder after a wash cycle using different reactants and precipitant.

thank you for your response Nickvc, I will filter and precipitate as suggested, my observation was based on my previous experiments where adding HCL and bleach yielded cloroauric acid with a bright gold colour so in a nutshell I was looking for that colour.

Color is not a good indicator, you should use stannous to see where the gold is.

Göran