HCl/Cl yields water and chlorine gas?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kadriver

Does this look right (I studied an example of another formula on you tube)?

2 hydrochloric acid plus 1 hydrogen peroxide equals water and chlorine gas:
2HCl + H2O2 = 2H2O + Cl2

I need to take a basic chemistry class.

Thanks - kadriver

I've never noticed a chlorine smell when mixing hcl + H2O2. the hcl i use gives a strong vapor anyway, sometimes i can smell it through my respirator. the only time i can smell chlorine is when i add chlorine to hcl. not saying it doesnt but just that ive never smelled any. i would imagine that the O2 would react and cause hydrogen gas and oxygen.

Kev

AP works differently.
Since HCl alone does not oxidize copper, H2O2 is added.

There are two steps to this reaction, as i know it:
H2O2 + Cu = CuO + H2O
2HCl + CuO = CuCl2 + H2O

Geo said:
I've never noticed a chlorine smell when mixing hcl + H2O2. the hcl i use gives a strong vapor anyway, sometimes i can smell it through my respirator. the only time i can smell chlorine is when i add chlorine to hcl. not saying it doesnt but just that ive never smelled any. i would imagine that the O2 would react and cause hydrogen gas and oxygen.
Geo, IF you smell something while using a respirator there are three things may be going on...
1. The concentration of the substance in the air may be overwhelming the cartridge.
2. The cartridge may be spent and needs to be replaced.
3. The cartridge may not be designed to protect you from the substance in the air you are breathing.
A forth possibility is that the seal around the respirator cup to your face may not be intact (briefly)
In any event, Leave the area! Ventilate and then , then it is safe, return.

Some smart forum member has a line in his signature to the effect that hospitals and morgues are not pleasant places to visit.