HCl + NaNO3 =....

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Duster

Hey guys, new here. If you couldnt guess, I'm a little new at this, and normally I lurk around for a while until I get some knowledge under my belt but I just have to ask this question...

So I saw the book on scribd that was linked to from here and thats where I got the idea for the poor mans AR using HCl and sodium nitrate instead of nitric acid, since thats a little pricey for me. Anyway the amounts listed said it was good for 160g of pins, well I have (had) about 70, so I halved the amount. I'll walk you through what I did and you can tell me what I did wrong, or where I messed up...

4 ounces of NaNO3 was added to 240ml of water, as much was dissolved as possible. A shallow layer of remaining sodium nitrate was left, but not much.

480ml of HCl (the store bought 31% or so grade) was added next. Vigorous stirring ensued only to find a THICKER layer of a white precipitate at the bottom.

Perhaps jumping the gun at this point, I heated it in a hot water bath and added all 71grams of pins. At first little to nothing was happening then it began to fizz... Some more stirring, more fizzing. Eventually I took it off the hot water bath. More fizzing... Moved the beaker outside. LOTS of fizzing and foaming and overflow and it was green (initially the solution was clear, adding the pins made it yellow, then it turned green).

Noticing the telltale red/brown NOx cloud I promptly left (after a bit of a sting to the nose at that... sure hope in 2 weeks I'm still here).

Eventually the reaction subsided, the beaker was very hot. A lot of foam overflowed (no doubt losing a lot of gold). Once the fizzing all but stopped (there was a little left) I took a closer look and could see gold flakes floating around, albeit not much (I figured).