Help with a Refiner

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lobby

Folks,

I'm a retired chemical engineer and have been in the scrap gold biz for over a year. I've been using NTR Metals pretty exclusively, but for the past 2 months, I've been getting smashed on their payouts.

Pretty much "every" batch is off 1% - 3% on the gold I predict. The most recent was off by 10%. Yep, all my profit for those days of biz was down the drain.

Three other scrap buyers there at the same time were also hugely surprised and disappointed by their payouts. One guy refused to sell and took his bar back. The interesting thing is he went back to NTR the following week, they reanalyzed it and he ended up with his original estimate. In essence, NTR admitted they made an analytical mistake.

Questions:

- any other refiners you can recommend?

- without having spent a bunch of time on this forum looking to process myself, any thoughts on me doing this myself?

Sorry if I sound rambling. I'm still angry...

You are certainly not the only one to have had troubles with the.I personally have not dealt with them,but given the opportunity I would pass,based on information that is here on the forum.
Here is what the last post about them here states,
http://goldrefiningforum.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=84&t=9247&hilit=ntr&start=40#p112288
Some other members will help,as they get a chance to read your post.

We had the same problem with them here in So. Florida and quit using them altogether. Interestingly, the local rep visited us last week and explained to us that they did a pretty extensive purge of personnel due to all the complaints they had. I for one, will NEVER do business with them again.
Regards,
Joe

JoeS said: