Help with botched refine

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bsrjack

Hi There
I'm complete newbie so please take it in to account
Few months ago (after reading this forum and finding some extra info on the net) i did successfully refine some old jewelry i had around and ended up with beautiful piece of pure shine, all perfect.
Today i tried to do it again on another small batch of scrap using the same inquartation method but things went totally wrong.and i don't understand how and why.
today i smelted two separate batches of scrap, one made of good known quality gold and another made of some dubious jewelry found by my daughter, that jewelry looked so dodgy that i decided to smelt it in separate batch to not mess with first good known batch. of course both were tested with acid first resulted in 18k and 14k pieces the second 9k, i dropped the stuff into water nitric acid mix and placed on heat, after some time the good batch disappeared leaving very fine black dust and the "dodgy" batch didn't even change the color and stayed totally untouched by acid. i collected and washed black dust which by the way was far less then should be in gold
and tried to smelt it together with the filter but it gone leaving nothing in smelting pot.
So not i've got badly inquartated gold which don't dissolve in acid, acid in nice clear blue color and no gold from first batch. Where is the gold from first batch? and what to do with the second which don't dissolve? it keeps showing around 9k after inquartation!! is my 9k test plain wrong?
I'm glad batches where really small so lost is not that hard to swallow
Thank to you all in advance..

First, you're melting things, not smelting things. Both are valid terms in refining, but they mean different things.

You mention inquartation. Please provide a little more detail about what you did.