IC chips: Blending Before or After Pyrolysis?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dzimmy89

Hey All,
I have a Waring professional blender i got on the cheap from eBay, and was wondering if I should use it after pyrolysis on the IC chips or simply blend the IC chips into powder with the blender (assuming they will blend to powder without being burnt first). Do I need to perform pyrolysis on the IC chips at all if I can turn them into powder with the blender? I have the process down pat after they are turned into powder, I just want to make sure I have it right up until the powder part. So basically I'm asking this: Do I need to perform pyrolysis on the IC chips? If I do need to do pyrolysis, can I blend them before or after pyrolysis?

Thanks for the help all!

I am far from an expert on this type of material but if you search the forum I'm sure you will get your answers and explanations as to why. From memory I believe you need to use pyrolysis first, Patnor has a long and excellent thread covering all your questions and detailing his own process for recovering the values.

you will destroy the blender and blades very fast if you don't pyrolize first... you will then have to contend with blending silicon glass into shards (and metal legs depending on your material) after...

I dont know if anyone has tried blending the pryolized chips in a water slurry to minimize airborne particles, but I would imagine you will still tear up your blades pretty fast.

mls26cwru said:
you will destroy the blender and blades very fast if you don't pyrolize first... you will then have to contend with blending silicon glass into shards (and metal legs depending on your material) after...

I dont know if anyone has tried blending the pryolized chips in a water slurry to minimize airborne particles, but I would imagine you will still tear up your blades pretty fast.