Introduction

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 70521

Hello all, I am new to the reclamation world. I have been working in a field upgrading old electronics to run on newer networks. All the old parts have been getting thrown away and it bothers me, all those shiny bits just getting tossed out. So, like a lot of other people I watched a video and decided to see if I could. I read an instructable by a guy called Railes and he points people here to this site. So here I am with a couple motherboards, Pentium 4 processors and a box full of 80's electronics. Im starting out simple with his method of soaking in muriatic acid and H2O2, it that keeps me excited I will start investing in more.

thanks,
Matt

Matt do yourself a favour and stop messing with chemicals as you are now producing corrosive and toxic fumes and highly toxic waste solutions that need treating properly before disposal.
Of this sounds harsh I apologize but if you create a real mess your interest in solving it will evaporate very quickly so put the chemicals away seal up any present experiments away from kids pets and wildlife definitely not in your house or garage and do some reading and research here on the forum to learn how to recover and refine safely.

Welcome to the forum, start with learning which components can hold economically recoverable values and collect those. Scrap the rest.

Then study what those components are made up of and how all these compounds and elements react to incineration, acids like HCl, HNO3, H2SO4, and whichever chemical you intend to use.

For each type of component there is a best suited process, some less suitable ones and some processes are very unsuitable and dangerous. some components can be combined in one process that's best suited for both.