Is Ebay a useful tool for finding PM's

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nostradomus

I am fairly new to the great world of PM's and I have read a lot posts, Hoke, and a bunch of other materials to try to learn as much as can about the industry, so I am sorry if this is answered some were else on the forum. I was wondering if Ebay is actually ever a useful tool for finding PM scrap. I know I have seen the posts and the actual auctions for ridiculous amounts of money for worthless crap. What I want to know is if there are really some good deals to be had through all the crap or if you find a good deal on Ebay you should run out and buy a lottery ticket cause you have the best luck in the world?? I new to this world and I know there are many people out there that have a lot more experience and I was once told a average person learns from there mistakes and truly smart person learns from others mistakes. Also in keeping with my questions about Ebay. I have seen many advertisements for "drop" bars made from base metals, gold, and gold plating are these a useless thing to purchase or is there a good or reasonable possibility that there are some worth acquiring and refining??

Firstly drop bars are a no no.

Also most "eBay gold" is over priced UNTIL you really know what you are looking for. Sadly knowing what you are looking for comes from experience, and you have to kiss a lot of frogs to get that.

I would certainly advise that you steer clear of bars or pins as a starting point.