Large Precious Metal Assay

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DOK

Hello,

I am a NOOB here, but not to precious metals. Whereas, I have a solid chemistry background and I would feel comfortable setting up a lab to separate precious metals, time becomes a constraint. I am designated as the 2nd on the list of C.M. Hoke’s book… the dreaded “DENTIST”! I see that most of the forum does not fall in this category, and my kind seems to just throw away or haphazardly send out PM scrap with very little vetting of what we have and the true value of what we have (Easy or lazy scrap surrenderer). Middle men come to dental offices and give meal gift cards to front desk staff to take scrap, a trick i have witnessed among colleagues many times. These dentists aren’t stupid, but more overwhelmed with treating people primarily and running a fully staffed office rendering scrap metal an insignificant factor to think about.