Lets Build a Distillation Condenser for Nitric Acid

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

darinventions

Well Ill begin by saying that I've built two of these an it works great for making 60% or less nitric. the first one i made had a flaw that i corrected with the second one.Now a little bit about me. I joined the forum about a year ago. But I've been recovering an refining for a little over five years . i spent two years before that reading about how to refine an do it safely on this forum an a couple others. With that said i hold my own personal safety as number one above any amount of gold an you should hold your safety to the same standard .So lets get to the point...what were building here is a condenser..But you WILL have to build a fume hood to put the complete setup into an will need to build a scrubber for it as well. So don't worry about the scrubber at this point as i will post building it next... well there is no exact list of items that i can give you for your fume hood as your work space will be different from my own..so ill just show you I've done an used an you can alter the size an shape to fit your needs.. now as far as your fume hood go's you can be very creative with this. Here's a few that I've made..

Attachments

• CAM00156.jpg
    CAM00156.jpg
    504.8 KB · Views: 510
  • CAM00025.jpg
    CAM00025.jpg
    314.1 KB · Views: 510
IMPORTANT !!!!! DO NOT AT ANY PIONT HOOK THIS SYSTEM UP TO HOUSE WATER... it is not designed for that kind of pressure..failure to use any kind of water pump besides low pressure water pumps can an most likely will result in serious injury or even death...HOT SULFURIC&HOT NITRIC ACID should always be handled with extreme care...make sure you test run the system an check for leaks before distilling...

Attachments

• CAM00159.jpg
    CAM00159.jpg
    362.6 KB · Views: 507