need help ferric chloride

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

youn

i am new to this web site i really like it . Its my first time. i put gold plated pins from computers in a ferric chloride solution i also add little bit h2O2 in it. after a day i am really happy to see a tiny gold particles in the solution but i don't know what to do next , can some body help me i really appreciate that.
i read other methods too but like ferric chloride because it is safe and it is easy to get .
i want to know following things
1===the particles which i seen in a solution are they all are silver and gold or some other metal in it too.
2===does ferric chloride only dissolved copper or it can dissolve other metals too.
3===how can i obtain gold from solution

thanks

Ferric chloride is partially depleted Hydrochloric acid.

It's not near as active on copper as HCL and peroxide. Often referred to as "AP" or "acid peroxide" here on the forum. Search for the extensive posts on the subject.

Lazersteve has worked with ferric chloride perhaps he will advise you on your project.

what u think if i filtered it and then use AP on the left over dirt which would be gold , silver and copper would it help . Right now it look like mud with different shiny particles in it,
i really appreciate your help
thanks

I would say that filter, test filtered liquid with stannous. Use fresh HCl, most of your mud will be copper anyway.