Need help - first post - "pure gold - like clear glass&

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hello folks - my first post here.

I'm a PM broker & get alot of questions from Christians who ask about passages from the book of Revelation where in chapter 21, verse 18 it talks about gold refined so pure that it is clear "like glass".

QUESTION: Is it possible to continue to refine past .9999, and can gold take on "clear" qualities?

If so - can anyone provide the evidence?

THANKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :!:

Eric,

I've only seen 'transparent' gold in the form of properly filtered gold chloride solutions. You can see right through them but they are still golden colored.

It would be interesting to know if there is a solid form of metallic gold that is indeed transparent.

This question reminds me of one of the Star trek movies where Scotti talks of 'transparent Aluminum'.

Steve

A really thin gold film is transparent, it is used as sun protection on windows. Blocking out the heat but letting a lot of the visible light through. http://www.goldbulletin.org/downloads/Groth_3_7.pdf
Another example is the sun visors for the astronauts.

But I think it is a safe bet to say that the skills to do so thin films wasn't known at that time.

Bulk gold could never be transparent, it is a metal and the electrons in the metal is reflecting the electromagnetic wave that we calls light.

Couldn't it be a matter of intepretation and translation? Maybe they meant that it was pure enough to be smooth as glass. Like the gold buttons Noxx made.

:)

I remember reading a long time ago that clear iron or was made by pouring the molten metal into liquid nitrogen.

Jim