New to electrochem

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Toobigfortx

I'm pretty new to this subject but I have been reading up all the info that I can when I'm not asleep. This is what I have so far:(Please correct any mistake you see)

thier are different methods for electrochemically refining metals. I've come up with the DIRECT acid bath and the acid bath with a membrane. While I havent worked out all the kinks these seem to be the 2 best setups. I know that an electrolyte is needed for refining or leaching. Where I start to get confused is the the electrolye you need for each type of metal. I worked with a guy who used be an employee at a metal refining co. and he told me that for copper they would use HCL, and for silver, they would use silver nitrate. the remainder was gold and other PM's. How true that is, IDK, but I do know that what I have seen being done is the melting of several metals from circut boards, Hard drive disks, and CPU's into one solid 2.5" thick sheet. then the recovery.

I took a tour of a plant while I was in school I know that I saw them use the same electrolyte for both copper and silver but after that we left for lunch so I didnt get to see anything else.

My ultimate goal is to Do that myself melt down some PCB's and other Computer parts into an alloy sheet then purify and refine using a similar method to thiers. If anyone could help It would be greatly appreciated.

Rusty already has a thread about this and the truth about using electricity to refine is that the starting feedstock has to be of very high purity and the material you will produce will not make copper refining an easy thing. If you really want to try this method aim for 98%+ copper content and be careful melting materials from pcbs they contain some fairly unpleasant materials.

Toobigfortx said: