Newbie on the block

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smj

Hi, I'm really fasinated with this site and the members are very helpful and very kind.
I'm a goldsmith and i do repairs, M/ups, rhodium plating etc....There comes a time where business is quiet
and i would like to spend it doing something that will keep me afloat. I'v been reading a bit of Hoke & the topics
on site, i have no practicle experience in refining but i'm eager to learn. is there anyone that can explain a simple to understand method of refining (gold,sil,pt,pd). "THE BASICS"

Thanks Sm

Welcome to the forum.

You say you've been reading Hoke?

If that be the case, it doesn't get any more simple. She covers pretty much anything you will encounter as a jeweler aside from dealing with silver, which she appeared to hold in contempt. You will likely see it differently, especially if you deal with dental scrap, or work with any of the platinum metals. Silver becomes the carrier, so it's important that you process the resulting silver from inquartation to effect a recovery.

Please accept this in the spirit in which it is offered. There are no "fast and easy" refining methods. There is a lot to learn, and you will learn it only be being involved. No one can talk to you long enough to give you the kind of information you seek. Read Hoke, and don't get creative. Follow her instructions exactly as she presents them (except for using gasoline for incineration. That's crazy!). As you progress, things will start making more and more sense, and you can then consider altering some methods to suit what you desire to do.

Luck!

Harold

Hi Harold,

Thank you for the reply.

I know that all the information is available on the forum,
but i'm having a hard time absorbing the info by Reading it.
I'd prefer the practical approach, but i'm trying my best to process the information.

thanx,
Sm