Nitrate of Soda V Ammonium Sulfate

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Being a newbie I have a question that may have been covered somewhere else in this forum.

In Making Nitric acid> I have been using Potasium Nitrate (Salt Petre)and I know it can also be made with Sodium Nitrate ( Nitrate of soda)

But if Nitrate of soda is 15-0-0

and Ammonium Sulfate is 21-0-0 would it do the job for a nitric mix?
would the Nitric be stronger?

I think there is a use for Ammonium Sulfate in refining> but I'm not sure if it could be used to make Nitric Acid or if it has another use that it's better served for if any?

Would the High Sulfer content affect in a negitive way?

at 5 Lbs for 2.00 it is much cheaper to get.

any info would be greatly appreciated

Jim

Ammonium sulfate is useless for manufacturing nitric acid unless you're decomposing it to ammonia and doing a Birkeland-Eyde synthesis of nitric acid.

Ammonium nitrate, however, is just as useful as sodium nitrate for making nitric acid, either via distillation or with Steve's method.

Why does it would not ?
Aflac, what we want is the Nitrate. You can also use Barium Nitrate but the salts are toxics. It can also be used to make Nitric Acid. The resulting salt would be (NH4)2SO4 or Ammonium Sulfate.

I hope it helps to light your lantern.

Well i can buy 50 lbs bags of Ammonium nitrate for about $ 5 . ( 35-0-0 )
I didn't think that this could be used. If it can is the reactions and everything else the same as Potasium Nitrate or Sodium Nitrate?

Are the strenghts and volumes the same?

Ammonium Nitrate is fine if you are going to distill the nitirc acid off, but using my 'cold' method it's not a good choice.