Order of Precipitation?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nickolas

Hi Guys,
I've been reading for a bit, and a question came to mind.
Is there an order of precipitation when dealing with an AR
soup of silver, gold, platinum and palladium ?
In the past, I've only dealt with recovering gold.
Thanks

P.S. This is my first time here and I'm sorry if I've over
stepped.

You will not have much silver in aqua regia, it forms an insoluble silver chloride AgCl, very small amounts of AgCl2 from concentrated high chloride solutions will precipitate as AgCl once the solution is diluted.

As far as an order of precipitation of the other metals it would be a choice that the circumstances and the person refining would dictate.

I think Nickloas is alluding to the reduction potential at which the metals in solution would revert to the 'zero' state without other manipulations.

I think Nickloas is alluding to the reduction potential at which the metals in solution would revert to the 'zero' state without other manipulations.

I still must not understand the question?
AshesoftheUniverse
Where do metal ions revert back to zero states without being manipulated, or given back electrons, or complexed without adding a reducing agent or a complexing agent, or electrical current?

I cannot see where the reduction potential of the metal or the reactivity series of the metal would be used to determine in which order one would choose to reduce metal or complex it from solution a solution of aqua regia.