Oxy-Acet adds carbon?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Psyk0siss

Today I was forge refining some scrap copper using my oxy-acetylene torch. I'm not a pro, but I noticed with one of my ingots that had little impurities, when I reheated to molten and cooled had a giant carbon shell on top and the copper sample remaining was smaller than I started.

My question is, if I had my acetylene up too high, could I hand infused the carbon into the liquid sample and dirtied it up more?

Today I was forge refining some scrap copper using my oxy-acetylene torch. I'm not a pro, but I noticed with one of my ingots that had little impurities, when I reheated to molten and cooled had a giant carbon shell on top and the copper sample remaining was smaller than I started.

My question is, if I had my acetylene up too high, could I hand infused the carbon into the liquid sample and dirtied it up more?