precipitating gold with SMB

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sander

So I have done a lot of reading and searching around this forum and other gold refining web sites and books. I am slightly confused with 2 items. 1st being what is the proper amount of SMB to use? From what I gather from reading up on this forum you should use roughly the same amount that you plan on getting in gold returns? I have also read that you should use the same amount as the total amount of dissolved metal not just gold. Which one is correct? I am a relative newbie to refining gold but I have done it a few times with success. But I wasted money using the Shor kit the first time. It worked but it was pricey for the yield you can acquire with the chemicals provided.
Also when neutralizing with urea this is done to eliminate the nitric acid only correct? There is still a strong smell of HCL after using the urea. Also can you use too much urea where it effects the ph to an extent as to where it will not be in the proper range for gold precipitation to occur?

One last question to ensure I am doing everything right. What is proper ratio of sodium nitrate nitrate to HCL to create aqua regia? I have gathered that you use 4:1 ratio Nitric to HCL but I was slightly confused on the sodium nitrate.

Any info would be greatly appreciated from you well informed individuals!

Sander

Rule of thumb is same amount of expected gold plus 10%.

If your expected yield is unknown, then use less than you think you might need.

Let that settle overnight and test again with stannous chloride to see if any more gold is in solution.

Repeat as necessary until the stannous test shows no more gold in solution.

if you look around this forum a lot more, you will find the answers to your questions

here is a quick recap