Preparing DMG

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Geo

I have tried and failed to fully dissolve DMG. I tried ethanol and isopropyl alcohol. Yesterday I tried sodium hydroxide. I did get a partial dissolution in the sodium hydroxide but there was still a lot of solid white powder left where it did not fully dissolve. I kept adding hydroxide until the solution formed a skin of film on top. I have very little experience and don't really know quantities such as how much DMG will dissolve in a certain volume of water. How much hydroxide is needed to dissolve X amount of DMG. How much water is needed. I was told that 100 grams of DMG will precipitate 30 grams of Pd in salt form. I believe I dropped more than that with just a few grams of DMG but wont know until it's converted. Can someone give me some insight on what I'm doing and how it should be done?

DMG is sparingly soluble in water. I found the following information while researching.

0.06 g. / 100 ml. (20°C)
0.36 g. / 100 ml. (80°C)
0.59 g. / 100 ml. (100°C)

source dimethylglyoxime

I've only used it for testing, so never tried alcohol or NaOH to increase solubility.

Dave

Found an old post from 2013 about making test solution:

- When you use NaOH to prepare your DMG you only use 4 grams of NaOh per 100 ml of water which will dissolve 5.8 grams of DMG --- so thats not an enormous amount of NaOH --- 43 ml of DMG prepared this way will precip 1 gram PD

Found an old post from 2013 about making test solution:

- When you use NaOH to prepare your DMG you only use 4 grams of NaOh per 100 ml of water which will dissolve 5.8 grams of DMG --- so thats not an enormous amount of NaOH --- 43 ml of DMG prepared this way will precip 1 gram PD
This is correct

100 ml distilled water - best to heat the water - it just needs to be to the hot side of warm - not boiling
4 gr NaOH
5.81 gr DMG