RAM recycling

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello,
I just recived 100kg of RAM gold fingered and i want to process them.
The only part which is containing gold is the finger or it worth to workout as well the other component?
What's usually the yield from 1 kilo of gold fingered ram?

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.
I may be wrong as I’m no expert at e scrap but I believe there is more gold in the chips than on the fingers but if I’m wrong I’m sure someone will correct me.

But in video on youtube, it looks like the most of people recycle only the fingers.
I didnt find any discussion in the forum about RAM. If you can suggest any recip it can be nice.

Search treating chips and the processes here on the forum there is plenty of information available, some go for incineration other people simply crush to release the bonding wires.
Most things about recovery and refining are covered here and in detail you just have to search and read, if you can’t understand something ask and you will be answered so long as you do your part and read.

Swissgoldrefiner said:
But in video on youtube, it looks like the most of people recycle only the fingers.

That's because those videos are only about how to recover & refine the gold finger "part" of the RAM

The process for recovering & refining the gold "inside" the IC chips that are on the RAM is a "completely" different process then the process of doing the fingers

The gold on the fingers is only about half "or less" of all the gold in/on RAM

The other half "or more" of the gold on/in RAM is the gold inside of the IC chip

If all you do is recover the gold from the fingers - then you will recover "less" value in gold - then the value of the RAM if you sell the "whole" RAM to a company that buys circuit boards