Recycling nitric acid from copper nitrate

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mbosco0

Hello to all!!
This is my first post on this amazing forum full of great people and knowledge. I have been refining silver now from electrical contacts for a couple months now. I am using a very simple process to do so. I have just been dissolving the contacts in 50/50 solution of nitric then cementing the silver out with copper after the reaction has stopped. Now my question I have is how to recycle nitric acid from the left over copper nitrate. Now I know my solution of copper nitrate is most likely contaminated with other base metals. I was reading on the forum lazersteve talking about recycling nitric from copper nitrate via electrolysis. I was wondering if anyone can tell me how to do that. Creating a cell is not a problem. I have some knowledge in electrolysis due to my job as a toolmaker. Also is there a better way to recycle the nitric?? I was thinking of distillingbthe copper nitrate. Possibly setting up a distilation rig to heat up the copper nitrate and bubble the NOx gasses into distilled water or hydrogen peroxide. Once again I'm not 100% sure of this process. If anyone can help or comment that would be greatly appreciated. Thanks everyone.

I'm not sure if it works the same for nitrate as it does for sulfate but here's a video on making sulfuric acid from copper sulfate. He ended up using a platinum coated titanium electrode which isn't real cheap but if it worked to recover nitric acid from used solutions (which I don't know if it will), it might be worth buying one. You could probably try the carbon electrode and filter out the junk from the carbon rod just to test if the process might work. Sounds like a great idea if it worked.

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5dUSF9Gl0xE[/youtube]

Mbosco0,