SIMPLE CHEAP STOCKPOT COPPER

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Good morning Fam,

I am fairly new to precious meal refining and have accumulated 2-3 litres for my stockpot. Several Gold precipitations using SMB plus decanting and pouring off over the Gold and washing with HCl. I have saved all these waste solutions. NOTHING silver related in here!

My question is to get your thoughts on throwing in old UK bronze pennies which are freely available here and very cheap. They are 97% Cu, 2.5% Zn and 0.5% Sn. As a new refiner I want to keep everything simple and cheap on this small scale for now. I could do what Sreetips does and source copper tube flat bar cable etc but would these coins be ok? Any issues with a small amount of zinc or tin if all I am really interested in right now is the last bit of Gold?

Thanks and regards, Frank

Very bad idea the last thing you want to deal with is tin,just scavenge old copper pipe and open and flatten and put that in your stock pot.
If you do not understand what I’m saying about tin just search posts regarding tin in gold solutions...

I used a copper radiator for silver precipitation, and was very surprised that almost 4% of impurities were found in silver during XRF, 1% of them zirconium. Therefore, I would not use unknown items. For copper, I would take an electrical wire, or 5 cents of American coins, if 25% nickel is not a hindrance.

I am guessing that reviving an old dead thread is atleast forgivable if its your own...

So clearly we don't want contamination of tin with our Gold but how about using this 97% Cu 2.5% Zn 0.5% Sn alloy for cementing Silver out of solution? I can get this for literally a THIRD of the price pure Copper will cost me. I know I could scavenge Copper from here and there but to be honest I have better things to do than ask around search and pester.