Stainless steel in my Cu(II)Cl etch and now a huge mess!

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

raa

So I'm new to the gold recovery game and I seem to have made a very silly and basic error.

It all started well enough. I've been reading the forum for several weeks and watching videos on Youtube. I decided it was time to start with the simplest process and run some close cut RAM fingers. I already had some HCL based patio cleaner so I used the 'bucket with drain holes within a larger container' method to etch the copper and release the foils.

No peroxide was used, I just ran a 3mm hose from a nebuliser into the bottom of the container and ran it intermittently for around 3 hours per day. After about a week the solution started going green. After 3 1/2 weeks the fingers were completely stripped of metal and the solution was a deep dark green.

I captured the foils in a coffee filter but the foils were trapped in an oily matrix probably caused by the unfortunate presence of additives in the patio cleaner. , I cleaned up the foils by roasting them (to drive off the oily detergents in the patio cleaner), then washed them in NaOH solution, rinsed them with H2O and dissolved in HCl/bleach and finally dropped with sodium metabisulphate.

For a first attempt at gold recovery it all seemed to go rather well. The gold took two days to fully settle but I ended up with 1.3g of what looks like fairly clean (based on looking at pictures of other people's gold drops) Au powder from 275g of close cut fingers. I won't melt anything until I have at least 2g of powder.

DSC01162.JPG

So after this good result I decided to run a second batch. I remembered reading somewhere under a youtube video that if you place stainless steel in the solution, you can remove it with copper cemented onto it thus extending the life of the etchant.