Stripping conformal coating off PCBs...seeking advice

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Refiner49er

I am new to this specific industry but have some background in metals and foundry operations.

I am currently digesting a fraction of the mass of information that is at the
Gold Refiners Forum.... a superb amalgamation of experience and data.

Hats off to all of you who make it what it is! :)

My question- I want to strip PCBs of their conformal coating to effect removal of Au tracings, etc.
I have a large quantity of ammonium hydroxide tech. in liquid form.
Is it feasible to use instead of sodium hydroxide + trace of salt?
Can you advise as to the strength of solution.

If there is a better method for stripping PCB's, I would like to know. :?:

I look forward to contributing to the GRF in the future as I acquire experience in this field.

Thank you for your consideration.

Honemaster

honemaster said:
I am new to this specific industry but have some background in metals and foundry operations.

I am currently digesting a fraction of the mass of information that is at the
Gold Refiners Forum.... a superb amalgamation of experience and data.

Hats off to all of you who make it what it is! :)

My question- I want to strip PCBs of their conformal coating to effect removal of Au tracings, etc.
I have a large quantity of ammonium hydroxide tech. in liquid form.
Is it feasible to use instead of sodium hydroxide + trace of salt?
Can you advise as to the strength of solution.

If there is a better method for stripping PCB's, I would like to know. :?:

I look forward to contributing to the GRF in the future as I acquire experience in this field.

Thank you for your consideration.

Honemaster