Wearable gold jewelry

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

patnor1011

I wonder if some members who recover gold from lots containing wearable jewelry may be interested to offer some pieces for sale here say for the price of gold. It may save them chemicals and some time refining items which can be still used and buyer will also save when comparing gold content price to a price in jewelry shops the difference is quite steep.
Could that be a viable thing to entertain in here? I may be interested in getting some pieces myself but probably form around the EU area preferably due to possible tax issues. Any opinions?

I do save wearable pieces for resale. But I sell for over the price of the gold. I worked in the jewelry business for many years, and the markup is much higher than I've ever sold for. I get a little more than the gold value, save the chemicals, and the buyer gets a great discount below jewelry store prices.

Dave

A lot of refiners also sell used jewelry from a dedicated website. Often not associated with their refinery portion of the business. As any transaction between members of this forum has it's benefits, I can also see some down sides for the forum itself to get involved in a transaction. For one thing, any offering must be made with exact weights and high quality photographs as well as any details available for any gems or stones included on the piece for sale.

I would be in favor of this site hosting a section for goods for sale with the understanding that the forum is in no way responsible for the goods represented in the sale. Any and all costs associated with the sale and delivery of payment and the goods has to be entirely between the members.