Wisconsin Here

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PhillipJ

Hi there all you gold diggers. Good to be here and read all this valuable information. Awesome site!

So I had my Harley torn apart in the living room, giving it a make over and it needed more chrome. So I decided to do it myself & bought a kit. Somwhere along, I needed some nitric acid to prime aluminum before copper plating. Found some of the chemicals to make my own on Ebay, along with the directions to use it for gold refining also. That's what got me started about 2 months ago in refining gold. Now the Harley just sits there waiting for me while I make gold.

By trade, I am a heavy equipment mechanic temporararily on exile as a garbage man because of the loss of a CDL liscense. It's ok sometimes because I find cool junk and a stash of electronics on occasion.

Have no clue about chemistry, but seem to mess with it quite a bit lately. Now it bothers me because of my lack of knowledge about it. Age 51.

I have been Using all acids for mt recovery / refining. Pins & such went in nitric 1st. Then AR. I twice refine with AR.

The nitric for pins is not the answer. I can tell, because my acid mix likes to get chrystalized from the copper. Lazer's tutorials are really good, and I am going to try that out as soon as I gather up all the supplies. I have been wondering & kinda looking for a good electro recipe.

To date I have refined about 10 grams or so, and have a little mud in the coffee pot, ready to melt.

Hoping to come with a good "gold plating solution" recipe so I can plate some more monkey teeth.

Regards to all.
Phillip

Is the skull from a real monkey? Nice teeth!

The reverse plating electrolyte is just sulfuric acid and a touch of glycerin.