Purifying Palladium Salt extracted with DMG

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kadriver

Here is a short video I made showing the process I used to purify the impure palladium salt extracted with DMG from my silver nitrate electrolyte.

This is my first time doing this so I hope I got it right.

Any critique would be welcomed - I have not burned the product yet.

I'll make another video when I burn the Pd salt in a quartz dish.

kadriver

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=btvN9KIghHc[/youtube]

I goofed the title - misspelling the word "Purifying"

If one of the moderators could change the word "Purifting" to "Purifying" in the title on this post then it would be greatly appreciated!

Might help someone who is trying to use the search block.

kadriver

Kevin,

Suggestion: just digest the DMG in aqua regia, dilute, filter off any AgCl that might have been entrained in the filter, then treat as per normal.

Best,

kadriver said:
I goofed the title - misspelling the word "Purifying"

If one of the moderators could change the word "Purifting" to "Purifying" in the title on this post then it would be greatly appreciated!

Might help someone who is trying to use the search block.

kadriver

I think you can edit the title yourself. Give it a try.

Jim

I got it for him :)

Also, Kevin...Pd is one of those metals that it is inadvisable to calcine, especially in quartz. It forms palladium silicides which embrittle the metal.

Attachments

• PdSilicapmr-v20-i3-079-085.pdf
    1 MB · Views: 99
Lou said:
I got it for him :)

Also, Kevin...Pd is one of those metals that it is inadvisable to calcine, especially in quartz. It forms palladium silicides which embrittle the metal.

From the Chart I can tell that Pd2Si only forms in a hydrogen environment with a temperature of 1100°C and Calcination takes place at around 550°C.