Gold in Hard drive?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sgtmajorbuzz

I have been pulling apart HDDs for scrap for a few months, as I have stacks of them. I have been setting aside the circuit boards and robbing the platters of the small, but very strong, magnets. On the readers, there is normally a copper coil. I noticed that one of the coils from a Western Digital 500 GB was a gold tone, so I pulled it and rubbed it on my stone. It held at 10k, so I tested it with 14k, to which it vanished within a few seconds. So, I rubbed considerably harder, to make sure I got completely through a layer of the very fine wire, and have the same results. I have since looked though, my other HDDs, and they are all copper. The weight, with a little bit of glue in the corners that holds the wire in shape, is .5 grams. Does anybody have any knowledge of solid gold wire being used in laptop HDDs? Or have I come across another alloy that looks like gold, feels like gold, but sure isn't gold? Other than my acid test and magnets, I don't have any other way to verify gold presence.
Thanks for any insight.

(Pics to follow soon)

Have you tried a test with stannous chloride?
Have you tired dissolving the wire in nitric acid after inceneration.

Very small gold wire can be used at the reader heads.

It is not likely to be found in the coil of magnet wire, where copper wire makes more sense, although the varnish on the copper wire coil could be a yellow color.

There may also be a slight possibility that they used a gold plated copper wire in the coil with a clear varnish, electricity does like the skin effect of wire.

No, I am fairly new to the gold recovery hobby, so I do not have stannous chloride yet. Here are some Pics. The coil in question is the one on the left. I placed it above the gold button for color comparison.

Attachments

• IMAG1721.jpg
    IMAG1721.jpg