How do I calculate how much UREA and Sodium-MetaBisulfite I need?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aberu_

If I have x mL of AR and I have around y grams of gold in the AR solution, how much UREA would I need to neutralize the acid, and how much Sodium Meta-BiSulfite would I need to precipitate all the gold? Would I need to add any water to the solution? Sorry if this is common knowledge or doesn't make sense, I am new to gold recovery.

Aberu_ said:
If I have x mL of AR and I have around y grams of gold in the AR solution, how much UREA would I need to neutralize the acid
That depends on how much excess nitric you used. The best technique is to use just enough nitric to get the job done. Then you don't have excess nitric to neutralize. When they do have to deNOx their solutions, most members use sulfamic acid instead of urea.

and how much Sodium Meta-BiSulfite would I need to precipitate all the gold?
As Lino said, use about the same weight of SMB as the weight of gold in solution.

Would I need to add any water to the solution?
That's hard to say. You didn't say how many "x ml" of solution you had to how many "y grams" of gold or how you got there. We try to dissolve gold in the minimum amount of acid. Then add a bit of sulfamic or sulfuric acid, dilute with about 3 times the volume of water, allow to cool, filter, and precipitate. If you used more solution than necessary, you may not need to dilute at all. Give us an idea of how much x and y were, and we may be able to help more.

Welcome to the forum.

Dave

First of all, thank you for the quick response! I was planning on using 120 mL of AR to dissolve 3 grams of gold, is this too much/too little?

Aberu_ said:
First of all, thank you for the quick response! I was planning on using 120 mL of AR to dissolve 3 grams of gold, is this too much/too little?