New Member from Tennessee

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hyderconsulting

Hello! My name is Chris Hyder and I live in Cleveland, TN about 20 miles north of Chattanooga. I'm a Chemist. I got a B.S. in Chemistry from UTC in 1979. Worked in specialty chemicals field as an analytical chemist for many years. Last few years worked as an engineer's aide in the metal coatings field and got exposed to precious metals recycling in a round about way from there. I'll explain that sometime. Currently I've got my own business called Hyder Consulting & Recycling. What I do mostly is pickup scrap electronics and metals to dismantle and recycle. I get in computers and related electronics and dismantle them down to basic parts and circuit boards and so on. I sell the cleaned up boards, connector ends, copper transformers, eproms, SIMMs and so on to a specialty recycler in Trenton, GA. The CPU's I sell usually on ebay. All the other scrap metals such as steel, brass, copper wiring I sell locally to the scrap yards. I do not do any refining but I'm working toward that. I have done some experimenting in the lab with AR and other things so I have a little working knowledge of it. I wouldn't even call myself a novice in this area to be honest. Where my strong points are would be in the recycling of metals of all types in general, how to dismantle electronics to get the most out of them, and how to find electronic scrap in quantity. I never have a problem finding plenty computers to take apart. Never! Today I got a call from a school system wanting to know if I wanted over 500 pieces of computer equipment. I turned them down and sent them to a friend of mine looking for stuff to work on. I couldn't handle the number at this time. I do a few other things also. I do some technical writing work. I have just written a short book called "The Layman's Guide to Recycling S