Stannous / Ammonia Test Color List - Chat GPT - Request Assistance

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fredtest

I've been looking for a master list of test colors. I figured I'd try out Chat GPT and below is what it coughed out after some back and forth dialog. (I'm just learning hobby chemistry so please be gentle.)

Initially the results look correct but I was hoping to have more eyes look over the results. I've learned Chat GPT results are often incorrect.

My entry text:
"Generate a list for the following metals: iron, cadmium, cobalt, nickel, tin, lead, antimony, bismuth, copper mercury, silver, gold, platinum, palladium. Add the stannous test colors and ammonia test colors to this list for each metal."

ChatGPT
Certainly! Here's a comprehensive list for the metals you mentioned, including the Stannous test colors and ammonia test colors:
  1. Iron (Fe):
    • Stannous test color: Brown
    • Ammonia test color: Green precipitate ([Fe(H2O)6]²⁺ complex ion, then turns green with excess ammonia)
  2. Cadmium (Cd):
    • Stannous test color: White
    • Ammonia test color: White precipitate (forms Cd(NH₃)₄²⁺ complex)
  3. Cobalt (Co):
    • Stannous test color: Pink
    • Ammonia test color: Blue (forms Co(NH₃)₆²⁺ complex)
  4. Nickel (Ni):
    • Stannous test color: Green
    • Ammonia test color: Green precipitate ([Ni(H2O)6]²⁺ complex ion, then turns green with excess ammonia)
  5. Tin (Sn):
    • Stannous test color: Yellow
    • Ammonia test color: White precipitate (forms Sn(NH₃)₆²⁺ complex)
  6. Lead (Pb):
    • Ammonia test color: White precipitate (forms Pb(NH₃)₄²⁺ complex)
  7. Antimony (Sb):
    • Stannous test color: Not well-defined, can vary
    • Ammonia test color: White precipitate (forms Sb(NH₃)₆³⁻ complex)
  8. Bismuth (Bi):
    • Stannous test color: Not well-defined, can vary