Copper Ingots from Copper Tubing and Fittings

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HigginsMechanical

Afternoon,

I am a long-time commercial heating, ventilation and air conditioning contractor by trade and a newby refiner by hobby. (I already deal in scrap gold and silver and silver coinage) I come across better than 100lbs of clean copper tubing and fittings per month (free scrap) that I would like to melt into copper ingots for resale. (mostly for fun, but the scrap yards around us are well below spot for #1 copper scrap anyway and I shouldn't be giving money away like that!)

(I also come across a lot of bronze and brass, but that's a story for another day)

In looking at the MSDS, typical copper tubing and fittings are already 99.9% pure Cu. I have a KerrLab electro maxi-melt unit. Can anyone help me with a process to basically re-melt and re-form the copper into ingot molds? Do I need to anticipate any polishing process afterwards? Am I over simplifying this? I really haven't seen much on the subject.

By the way, being in my trade, I have access to all kinds of ventilation equipment, motors, electrical parts etc and I would be happy to pass along at trade wholesale cost, without any markup, to the members of this forum...

Thank you kindly for your comments and assistance.

Don
[email protected]

It surprises me that you are being shortchanged on the really clean scrap copper. Are you aware that copper has taken a MASSIVE price dump (from $4.2x to right about $3.00 even, now back to about $3.55) or are you saying that regardless of spot price, your local scrappers try to skin you?