1st ever refining try

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sheadas

Hi, I'm very new to this & the forum. Really hope someone would like to help or advise.

I have just finished dissolving a scrap pin melt in nitric acid. I have been left with a top blue liquid, mid dark blue/drown liquid followed by cloudy blue/black liquid & black particles or powder. Is this right & normal? Nothing I have read says anything about this or what I should do next. Where is the gold or did my melt not contain any? Thank you.

Sheadas welcome to the form

First things first read hokes its a book that teaches you
Everything about refining precious metals
read the form handbook
Take a tour of lazersteves site
All of these are free downloads found in the signiture
Of many members posts( the part at the end of or at the
bottom of each post)

I hope u have proper saftey gear nitric will kill you
Even tho you can breath it you will still get blood poisen
And once you start to feel the effects its to late

You said melt not good put your pins in first but instead
Of nitric grab a gallon of 32% hcl or muriatic acid and 32 ounces
of hydrogen peroxide .
when you have those and you have read some of the
book and are more familiar with the form you will get help
If needed
People here want to know you are willing to help yourself
also look up stannous chloride or SnCl, it is very necessary to have
put your stuff up for now it won't go anywhere really little

Sorry the last words were supposed to say read a little

O ya just an after thought how much material did you
Start with
1Lb of pretty golden computer pin generally produce
Less then 1gram of gold if your lucky

Good luck hope this helped read read read
steyr223 rob