AgNO3 + NaOH

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kurr

Recently while at the store to purchase liquid fire to try to set up my first cell I came across a product from Rooto I think that had as its ingredients sodium hydroxode and silver nitrate.

I did some looking and apparently its a well known reaction that causes a tan precipitate to form. Now I have absolutely zero chemistry education (yet!)
but, if the reaction is AgNO3 + NaOH --> NaNO3 + AgOH and if i'm reading it right then could the AgOH be converted to elemental and the by product be sodium nitrate? If so this would give me a "taste" of the silver process from the silver chloride reduction and leave me with sodium nitrate to make nitric with?

I am studying to try to learn to do my own figuring, man I wish I'd have stayed in school way back when. I can understand the whats, I wanna know the why's :D

I'm having more than a small problem with the notion that there's any silver in what you mentioned. Are you sure of your understanding?

Harold

Not at all. I simply saw the two ingredients as the only ones listed. I thought I was sure till you said that, upon checking on google I didn't see the item and got further doubt, but I'm pretty sure that it was the silver nitrate and sodium hydroxide.

From what youtube showed me on the reaction it would seem to be to maybe force the clog loose from the volume increase.

I have no doubt any silver would be minuscule beyond sight. But it might keep me from actually ordering the sodium nitrate from the meat cutter, lol. And curiosity.

Drano drain cleaner contains SODIUM Nitrate and Sodium Hydroxide as well as Aluminum metal and sodium chloride.

Here's the Data on the product:

http://hpd.nlm.nih.gov/cgi-bin/household/brands?tbl=brands&id=19001029