Any recommendations of recovery process for large item?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trilo68

So i'm a noob to the forum and also to metal recovery and refining. I have been researching into the various methods to recover gold from some items i have. I have not been able to determine the best way to go about it, which is why i would like the opinions of those who have been there before.

On to the items:

The parts are 36" diameter by 21" tall cylinders. The cylinders are made from two sheets of 10ga 304SS with cooling water paths formed in between the two sheets, The inside diameter of the assembly is then nickel plated for a bright finish and then gold plated MIL-G-45204 Type III. I do not know the thickness rating.

My problem is that cutting them up would be a chore. 10ga 304SS is fairly tough, and each cut would be through two pieces. On the other hand, a bath to handle the entire assembly would be quite large and require a lot of chemical.

One idea i had was a smaller bath with the cylinder on its side which could be rotated as the gold is removed. Again i am not sure how feasible that is so i would like the opinions of those with experience recovering gold.

Thanks in advance.

Trilo68 said:
One idea i had was a smaller bath with the cylinder on its side which could be rotated as the gold is removed. Again i am not sure how feasible that is so i would like the opinions of those with experience recovering gold.

Thanks in advance.

this idea will work, try searching for "sulfuric cell" and "reverse electroplating"

you should be able to build one without having to spend to much money.

please make sure you are familiar with all the safety procedures before starting this venture.