anyone know what kind of rock this is

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

surewood

I found this rock in a hole in azusa, CA. The picture is half of it. It is heavy, greenish and white, and had approximately 3/4 of an inch of rusty and easily scraped off material on outside. Inside is really hard material. I took outer rusty material and smashed it and ran through approximately a 200 mesh screen and got gold looking material with a small amount of white/silvery and much heavier material, which tells me the other is not gold. i am obviously a newbie and would appreciate any ideas and will make sure im more educated before i post again.

Attachments

• 1442037990167-930012668.jpg
    1442037990167-930012668.jpg
    3.2 MB
Hi Surewood,

I am a newbie myself, not an expert. Hopefully someone else will join this conversation. I have little experience, and I am not in a position to tell you what it is, only my opinion.

Have it checked for Platinum Group Metals. I have silvery white metal that is very heavy, and all indicators show it to be of this group. Maybe a pawn shop will do it if there are any sizable nuggets. I only have fine powder, called sponge.

Respectfully and sincerely,
Aphrodite <3

Aphrodite, please don't give advice when it's obvious that you don't know anything about the subject.

Sponge is half massive but porous metal resulting from calcining platinum salts into metal again. It is NOT fine material that you scrape off a rock and can pan.

Nothing in the description of the rock hints about platinum group metals. At most it could be a sulfide mineralisation but to tell anything more you need to know more about the geology of the area and see a fresh surface of the rock.

Göran

I'm definitely a noob, but two main things I can think of to test the rock: