BEWILDERED

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cleon

Hello GRF members,
I am very new to this venture. I have a large amount of E waste that to me looks rich with foil.( photo below). I'm not new to refining plasser gold, for I have been prospecting for over 40yrs. But the process ,or processes for E waste is a different venture. My stock pile of the E waste pictured below is in excess of 100 lbs of trimmed PCB's plus bare pins and the like. I would like to process it properly so as not to waste it....Thoughts????

Attachments

• 20240324_100349.jpg
    20240324_100349.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 1
You could process these boards several different ways but start with a small amount as a test until you get a proper technique figured out because if you end up making a mess a small mess is easier to fix than a huge mess.

First question:
Is there gold plating under the solder mask ?
If no then that will narrow down the process for you.

Second question :
Is there any solder or components on the boards?
If yes you need to remove everything you can as far as components, even little mlcc's.
If they have solder on the boards and you being new, then you should take the simplest route.

Before you start have all of the protective equipment to keep you safe like nitrile gloves, safety glasses ect., do this outdoors and where children and animals can not get ahold of it.
Do it where the wind blows the acid fumes away from you if you do not have a fume hood.

My opinion is that first you need to soak them in hydrochloric acid to remove as much solder possible if they do have solder.

Once you have the solder leached off and you rinse the boards very well you can go to the next step.