Birkeland–Eyde method of Nitric acid production

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gfx260

Hello forum!

I am new to refining & am looking to produce nitric acid using the Birkeland–Eyde method

I have found very little consistent information about this process regarding concentration, yield & efficiency. Some say it is hopelessly inefficient, others say it works alright.
I'm not too concerned with the cost of electricity unless it is astronomically high. I am most concerned if it will produce enough nitric acid to meet my needs for refining silver & gold scrap

I'm from the US, so Nitric acid is a little hard to just pick up at the store :roll:
I understand the dangers of shock & exposure to chemicals & take them seriously.
Basically, would I be completely wasting my money to buy a transformer & fish pump or would it eventually pay itself off in savings?

Thanks in advance for any help :)

In what part of the US of A are you?
I pick my nitric up @ Action Mining in Sandy, Oregon. There are others here that might point you to where they get theirs.

Take care & be safe!

Phil

gfx260,
I say forget trying this for a source of nitric acid.

If you just want to make some brown NO2 gas and few drops of nitric to see that the process can be done then have fun with the experiment.

Store bought nitric is best and I can drive to town and buy small bottles price is very high, or I can drive 500 mile round trip (shipping too high to purchase larger quantity's price still too high but somewhat less, so I will buy a about five gallons and save it for special purposes, most of my need for nitric acid are filled by making my own nitric from NaNO3 fertilizer, and KNO3 stump remover, also distilling this when needed for refining or for working with silver. also I try to use alternative methods that do not need nitric whenever I can.