Can I mix finger falkes and flakes from CPU pins?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello guys, very nice place you have here. :)

I am new in recovering and refining, this is my first post but, I already play around with fingers from some old boards using AP and I collected some amount of flakes. This was easy, even for a novice like me. My plan is to process those flakes using pure mans AR... but before that

I want to produce more materials (flakes) from some CPUs. I have some around 50 pieces, (different kind, ceramic and fiber...) so, I will tell you my plan... and I would like to hear does that can be done like I want.

1. First, I think, I need to remove die caps (to break CPUs) and to put them in AP. (Basically I am doing the same as I did with fingers, dissolving base metals. Yes?)

2. After that I will have (I suppose) something similar like flakes from fingers and I can mix those materials together. (I mean new flakes with flakes I already have, from fingers)

3. All those materials can go in pure mans AR.

Am I right?

I would appreciate any help, suggestion, advice. Thank you in advance.
(I apologize for my bad English)

Yes you can add the processed gold flakes together. Make sure you use good washing process once your gold is removed. And you can use HCL/clorox to dislove your gold.

Barren Realms 007 said:
Yes you can add the processed gold flakes together. Make sure you use good washing process once your gold is removed. And you can use HCL/clorox to dislove your gold.

Thanks Barren Realms 007,

Yes, flakes I already have are washed several times, with HCL first and with water after that. It will be the same with new flakes too and probably before I put them in HCL/clorox I will wash them together (when they are mixed) few times.