CAN I REFINE SLUICE CONCENTRATES WITH AQUA REGIA

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

INDY864

Supporting Member
My first post. I am a self- employed industrial engineer. I have blended detergents for 30 years - BUT I am not a chemist. I have prospected my property in N.GA. for 40 years - BUT I have found only small amounts of color. Can I use Aqua Regia on my sluice concentrates to recover any unseen gold?
Thanks, Indy864

Yes but make sure you remove as much magnetite as you possibly can before proceeding.

You are welcome,Heres a copy of hokes book.
http://goldrefiningforum.com/phpBB3/download/file.php?id=2480

INDY864 said:
My first post. I am a self- employed industrial engineer. I have blended detergents for 30 years - BUT I am not a chemist. I have prospected my property in N.GA. for 40 years - BUT I have found only small amounts of color. Can I use Aqua Regia on my sluice concentrates to recover any unseen gold?
Thanks, Indy864
I'm going to give you a rather more guarded reply than did mic.
It is safe to say, extracting values from ores isn't done well with acids. If your concentrates are primarily gangue, with very little value, you will most likely chase your tail endlessly. A great deal depends on the nature of your concentrates, so it may pay you to make determinations before jumping in with both feet, only to discover that you can't extract values due to circumstances that may be difficult to control.

You may achieve success by pretreatment with other acids, but you'll come to understand that it will be cost prohibitive, plus you'll most likely generate a huge amount of waste material that will be difficult to eliminate safely (and legally).

Cyanide is used for gold extraction for a very good reason. It works, unlike acids.

Harold