Cementing Silver

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

viperD

Hello everyone, let me just start by saying this forum is amazing! It has been a great place to learn various techniques and I wouldn't be anywhere near where I am today without it. I am relatively new to the world of PM refining. I have been collecting various silver pieces for quite some time now and just recently started to refine some of it with nitric acid. I've done about 4 different runs now and it always seems like I don't get as much silver cement at the end of the process that I should be. I will give you my last run's numbers as an example. I started with 60.4 grams of coin silver flatware pieces. Using about 1.2 ml of nitric per gram of silver, I added 75 ml of nitric acid to the beaker. I then boiled distilled water and added that until reaching about a 50/50 mix. The magic started happening and after letting everything dissolve and settle I was left with about 5 grams of undissolved silver flatware pieces left on the bottom. I strained these out and added another 2 parts of distilled water to the silver nitrate. So at this point about 55 grams of (.90) silver flatware had been dissolved into the solution. I added my copper and started the cementing process. After cementing was complete (or I think it was complete) I filtered and rinsed the cemented silver with boiling distilled water many times to clean it. After drying the cemented silver I came up with a final weight of 39 grams. Here's where the questions come in. Having 55 grams of silver dissolved into the silver nitrate, shouldn't I be recovering closer to 49-50 grams of refined silver cement? Am I losing about 10 grams of silver in the solution? Again, I want to say thanks to everyone on this forum. It has been a great learning tool so far. Hopefully someone can give me some insight as to what I'm doing wrong here!