Ceramic Cpu Process

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cbrux71

Hi,

This is my first time posting on the forum after many hours of searching to get all the information I can myself before asking for some advice. I'm looking to process some ceramic cpu chip(pentium pro x 6) and have made a short step by step list of what I think I need to do. I'm looking to see if I have missed any steps in my list, any advice would be great.

1) remove legs & metal plates & process seperately
2) Crush pentium pro to minus 1/8" mesh
3) Place pentium pro into HCL & Peroxide to digest all base metals
4) Once all base metals have been digested, decant and save HCL & percoxide mix to test later
5) Wash all pieces in hot water to remove any residual HCL & peroxide
6) Use aqua regia with controlled nitric doses to leach gold and other PM(keep covered and heat, but don't boil)
7) Once all reactions stop, decant all liquid and ice the aqua regia
8) Wash all pentium pro pieces with distilled water to ensure all gold bearing liquid is saved
9) Filter the aqua regia solution to remover any traces of silver and other insoluble chlorides
10) Precipitate gold out of solution with SMB
11) Let the solution settle overnight
12) Filter all liquid to catch gold
13) Test filtered liquid for PM
14) Wash gold powder with hot HCL to remove any remaining base metals then wash with distilled water
15) Re-process through aqua regia to refine to .9995 gold

I hope I've gotten all the steps I need to process ceramic cpu's.

Please any advice on these steps would be great.

Thanks,
Chris

cbrux71.
Chris I do not see much wrong in your plans, here are some things you may wish to consider, I hope I do not confuse you with this post, as I am not always the best at putting my thoughts on paper.

Remove any heat sinks, but unless the pins are kovar not much reason to remove them.