confused, WHERE TO START?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dj_pigs

HI GUYS, ok i think i'll start with a filled tooth, and then some old 18k gold
but first i need chemicals and some tools, would any of you guys like to send me a box, i don't need much too get a start, help please. i am from canada.

Dj_pigs,

If you are starting from scratch you might want to start on something simple. Fillings and karat gold require more equipment. I noticed in an earlier post that you had old computer parts. Fingers in AP is one of the easiest ways to get a start with easy to find chemicals.

Watch lasersteves videos for AP and fingers. They will help you greatly.

hi oz, yea, i can't find enough of them, maybe just for a start, but i need chemicals, i am a farmer, maybe i can mix some fertilizer, i do have some wicked drain cleaner (sulferic acid), i can fix meself a torch no problem, but still need the rest of the stuff. thanks , David

dj_pigs said:
HI GUYS, ok i think i'll start with a filled tooth,

If the tooth is a silver amalgam, I suggest you avoid messing with it until you know how to safely deal with mercury. The filling would be less than 50% silver, so there's not much value, anyway. Be careful to not heat the tooth, which would evaporate the mercury.

Harold

Dj_pigs,

I get old computers and cards by the truckload for free from the local repair shops. They know what I do with them and are just happy to see the parts separated and recycled instead of going into the landfill.

You won’t get rich recovering gold from computers. As lasersteve has often said “it’s a labor of love”.