CuCl2 flux to toughen gold melt

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mls26cwru

Supporting Member
I have been reading through Ammen's book and ran across a section that mentions using copper-2-chloride as a toughening agent to further purify gold when melting... has anyone tried this? Should it be melted with borax as well when trying this? Does anyone know the chemical mechanisms behind this? I am assuming it creates chlorides with trace metals and forms a slag that can be separated from the melt... any input would be appreciated as the book did not go into it too much (at least in the section i am reading currently).

Thanks,
Mike

While I have never used CuCl2 as a toughening agent I would suggest that if you get too hot, as is possible in an induction furnace, it can decompose and leave you with contaminated gold. Although if you feel the need to use it your gold is likely already contaminated.

Toughening is typically done with niter, potassium nitrate. It is added to a fine gold melt in very small (like a pinch) increments and it will dance around the surface and oxidize any base metals in the gold which are at the surface of the melt. The key here is at the surface of the melt. To get the impurities from what is below the surface of the melt, that's where your refining skills come in. The niter sizzles and bounces around the surface of the melt, I like to add a small (did I say small?) pinch of borax which will form a sticky spot on the crucible wall on the surface of the pool of molten gold, this sticky spot collects the oxidized impurities the niter collects and they stay on the wall of the crucible when you pour.

Remember, this is a band aid! Refine it well and it will not be needed.

Thank you 4metals! I was just wondering if anyone knew anything about it.