Disposal of POLYCHLORINATED BYPHENYL from capacitors.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

balasparks

From waste Printed Circuit Boards we removed lot of Capacitors which contains POLYCHLORINATED BYPHENYL (PCB) and that is having a Aluminum body.

We are going to recycle the aluminium body to aluminium ingots.But the difficulty is the remaining PCB(as electrolyte).

So,
1. How to dispose the PCB in a safety manner.( i studied that PCB"s are HYDROPHOBIC. if that is the case shall we grind the whole capacitor and putting the whole grinded product into the water bath, then PCB's will be flote on the water surface and the denser one will settle down(EX: Al) which is easy to separate the metal and PCB's.

Or is there any other ways to dispose the PCB's safely....

Please do not try to recycle them!
To get rid of the pcb they have to be burned with a very high temperature.
Do not mix them with water, you will spread the pollution, and pcb is one of the worst industrial poison we have.
Ice bears with two penis is a product of pcb, pcb dont know about borders, and mother nature cant destroy pcb.
I hope you do the right things with the capacitors, our world is in your hands right now.
Regard from Henrik

canedane said:
Ice bears with two penis is a product of pcb, pcb dont know about borders, ...

Would that not help prevent their extinction?
Or, at least double their odds?

A joke.
Not necessarily a funny one

I seem to recall hearing several decades ago about automotive anti-freeze - almost certainly not modern premix - being able to destroy PCB.
But I don't recall the process. Does anyone know of this? It may or may not be worth studying further, but regardless, however you decide to act, you want to be very sure you know exactly what you are doing and why. You may only have one chance to get it right.

balasparks,