EDXRF Measuring Instrument

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
What exactly does he want though? Is he asking if I've done one? If I do them on a daily basis, if I can run a sample for him? Is he asking how to do one, which machines are best, etc? I can help with all of that but his question is very nonspecific. I wish he would've just "Is anyone here familiar with the operation of an EDXRF Measuring Instrument for materials analysis." with "if you are, kindly explain this ______ and this _______ at this ______ level of discourse."

Lou,
He's probably doing some type of research to know what % of this board members are familiar with EDXRF :p

I'll extend his ?. I'm new to the XRF. Is anyone offering XRF analysis and at what cost? If so, how many elements? Can someone tell me what the ED stands for. Also, what is the turn around time for either mailed printout or e-mail results? I had 5 samples turned in here in Alaska and they were sent to New York and what was supposed to be free XRF analysis got turned into a 5 fire assay $375.00 bill. I also didn't get a full XRF breakdown of my analysis, only partial on one sample (Au, Ag, Cu, Pt,) Story I got was the first sample scared them so they done the fire assay on the lot. Also they didn't keep my sample I.D. on the hot one, but put their own I.D. and haven't been able to cross reference it to my I.D. #'s. Enough rant. Have a great day. allan

Thank you all for your replies.

I am sorry! I could have actually asked the question, couldn't I?

The precious metal dealing company that I work for has recently taken delivery of a FISCHERSCOPE XAN EDXRF made by Helmut-Fischer in Germany.
I need to learn how to get a good reliable accuracy from analyses of homogeneous samples of unknown alloys of Au Ag Pt Pd Cu Zn Ni(and possibly some others).