First timer here with my AP results so far.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goldfinger3

Hey guys I have been beating around the forums for about 6 months now going back and forth and buying small amount of equipment here and there and finally decided to do my first experiment. These are my results so far, feel free to give feedback I am all for learning. The solutions is 2 parts HCI 1 part H2O2, I have only ran 10 boards threw this as I wanted to make a very first small trial run. I also run a air bubbler to help the process.

My only major concern is maybe getting to ahead of my self and not depopulating the boards all the way, and now I have some junk in my mixture.

What is the best way to get the junk out of my mix but still keep any gold flakes that may be floating around.

Attachments

• 20151008_135339.jpg
    20151008_135339.jpg
    1.7 MB · Views: 539
  • 20160301_182207.jpg
    20160301_182207.jpg
    3 MB · Views: 539
  • 20160303_070212.jpg
    20160303_070212.jpg
    4 MB · Views: 539
  • 20160303_070152.jpg
    20160303_070152.jpg
    3.3 MB · Views: 539
  • 20160303_070302.jpg
    20160303_070302.jpg
    4.6 MB · Views: 539
I think you may have been a little heavy handed with the H202 and may well have dissolved your gold, a stannous test will tell you this. As for the junk don't worry just filter any powders in the bottom, if any and incinerate the whole lot junk included then your good to go. If there is gold in your solution simply keep adding more scrap until the gold cements back out and you have floating foils visible.

nickvc said: