Flux for gold melting???

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pescador7

Hi I'm new to this forum and I was doing some research and saw that flux is needed to melt gold. Can soldering flux be used or is it a different compound used that is referred to as flux. If so what are the chemicals that makeup the flux, I saw that boron or Borax and some other chemical are used. I'm new to this gold melting/mining and my grandfather knows the chemicals but in Spanish and I don't know the translations of them.

Pescador7,

Flux is a broad term used for ingredients used to change the characteristics of the melt, these can be physical and chemical changes, there are also quite a few different things which are used to make up a flux recipe, some of these are many times normal ingredients, then there are also some that are added to change the chemistry of the melt, for each type of ore there is no one recipe, because not all ore is the same, each rock has its own chemistry and the flux used is normally determined by that ores specific chemistry, many of the flux ingredients can be the same so many times a general recipe is chosen and then chemicals or materials added to adjust the flux recipe to get the desired results with that particular ore, these are usually determined by test melts of the ore, and adjusting the flux chemistry according to these test melts to get a recipe of flux that works the best to extract the and reduce desired metals into metallic form and to oxidize the undesired metals and other materials up into the slag glass.

Stock fluxes can be mixed up and then adjusted as needed.

Stock flux may consist of a basic flux ingredients like:
Borax, sodium carbonate (soda ash, or washing soda), quartz sand or crushed ground glass.

Then they may add as needed:
A tiny bit of fluorspar (or fluorite ore), to help viscosity.