Fumes, and flux questions

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

edge357

Hello. I'm new to the gold refining world and still working on my first attempt at refining. At this point, I have removed my gold from my boards and have everything filtered into an old pickle jar. While I wait for the weekend when I can begin refining again, i'm letting excess water evaporate. The first question I have is about glazing the ceramic crucible. I couldn't seem to find any info on the process. The second question is about fumes from melting the precipitate to the solid. Are any fumes given off that prevents me from melting with a kiln indoors? I may be able to use one but the owner wants to know about the fumes and if it will damage the kiln in any way. A link to any previous threads would be all I need, unless you wanted to type it out. Thanks for your help!

edge, welcome to the forum.

For small quantities of gold, most use a melting dish rather than a crucible.

Most of what we do creates dangerous, toxic fumes. None of this should be done indoors without an appropriate fume hood.

If you follow the links in the Tips for Navigating and Posting on the Forum , you should find some information on glazing a dish.

Dave